logo - home
Current time: 2021-10-23 20:13:53 UTC
You are here : EMSC > About > About EMSC
Our sponsors:      About EMSC

About EMSC



Objectives and activities | Status | EMSC Members

Objectives and activities

The principal scientific objectives of the EMSC are :


Since 1993, the internal structure of the EMSC has been functioning differently from the past. EMSC members include key nodal members, active members and members by rights. Several governing bodies have been created to oversee and coordinate the EMSC activities. There are as follows :

Planning, implementation and execution of the various activities of the EMSC are under the responsibility of the President and the Secretary General. They have to report to the governing bodies, at least once a year, during the Assembly meeting. Additional committees, which are consulted on an ad hoc basis, have been created :

The whole weight of EMSC scientific activities has been shifted towards several key nodal members, whose work is coordinated through the EMSC Coordination Bureau. The key nodal members are committed to the full execution of their specific task to which they devote the necessary manpower and financial means. They report to the Coordination Bureau, that has the duty to inform and disseminate the results to other EMSC members as well as to European and international institutions.

Download EMSC Statutes and Internal Rules in PDF

EMSC Members

Key Nodal Members | Active Members | Members by Right

Key NodalMembers Country Contact
Laboratoire de Détection et de Géophysique (LDG) France Dr. H. HEBERT
GeoForschungsZentrum (GFZ) Germany Dr. J. SAUL
Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia (INGV) Italy, Roma Dr. A. MICHELINI
Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia (INGV) Italy, Milano Dr. M. LOCATI
Instituto Geografico Nacional (IGN) Spain J. V. CANTAVELLO NADAL

Active Members

Institute of Geosciences, Energy, Water and Environment (IGEO) Albania Pr. R. KOCI
Centre de Recherche en Astronomie, Astrophysique et Geophysique (CRAAG) Algeria Dr. H. BELDJOUDI
National Survey for Seismic Protection (NSSP) Armenia Dr. H. PETROSYAN
Central Institute for Meteorolgy and Geodynamics (ZAMG) Austria Dr. YAN JIA
Republican Seismic Survey Center of Azerbaijan National Academy of Sciences (RSSC) Azerbaijan Dr. G.J.YETIRMISHLI
Center of Geophysical Monitoring (CGM) Belarus Dr. V. ARONOV
Royal Observatory of Belgium (ORB/ROB) Belgium Dr. F. COLLIN
Republic Hydrometeorological Institute (RHI) Bosnia-Herzegovina Dr. V. SIPKA
Federal Meteorological Institute (FMI) Bosnia-Herzegovina Dr. I. BRLEK
National Institute in Geophysics, Geodesy and Geography - BAS Bulgaria Dr. E. BOTEV
Andrija Mohorovicic Geophysical Institute and Croatian Seismological Survey (AMGI & CSS) Croatia Dr. M. HERAK
Geological Survey Department (GSD) Cyprus C. HADJIGEORGIOU
Institute of Physics of the Earth, Brno (IPE) Czech Republic Dr. P. SPACEK
Geophysical Institute of the Academy of Sciences (GFU) Czech Republic Dr. J. ZEDNIK
Geological Survey of Denmark and Greenland (GEUS) Denmark Dr. P. VOSS
Observatoire Geophysique d'Arta (CERD) Djibouti SAAD IBRAHIM
National Research Institute of Astronomy and Geophysics (NRIAG) Egypt Prof. ABD EL-AZIZ KHAIRY ABD EL-EAL
Institute of Seismology (ISF) Finland Dr T. TIIRA
Bureau Central Sismologique Francais (BCSF) France Dr. F. MASSON
Bureau de Recherches Geologiques et Minieres (BRGM) France A. LEMOINE
Institut de Radioprotection et de Sûreté Nucléaire (IRSN) France Dr. C. CLEMENT
ISTerre, Institut des Sciences de la Terre France Dr. P. GUEGUEN
Seismic Monitoring Centre of Georgia (SMC) Georgia Prof. T. CHELIDZE
Federal Institute for Geosciences and Natural Resources (BGR) Germany Dr. K. STAMMLER
National Observatory of Athens (NOA) Greece Dr. A. TSELENTIS
University of Thessaloniki (AUTH) Greece Dr. E. SCORDILIS
Institute of Engineering Seismology and Earthquake Engineering (ITSAK) Greece Dr. C. PAPAIOANNOU
Laboratory of Seismology, University of Patras Greece Dr. E. SOKOS
Kövesligethy Radó Seismological Observatory Hungary Mr T MATE
Icelandic Meteorological Office (IMO) Iceland Dr. G. GUDMUNDSSON
Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies (DIAS) Ireland Dr. Martin Möllhoff
Geological Survey of Israel (GSI) Israel Dr Ran NOF
National Data Center (NDC) of Israel, Soreq Nuclear Research Center Israel Dr. Y. RADZYNER
Istituto Nazionale di Oceanografia e Geofisica Sperimentale (OGS) Italy Pr. S. PAROLAI
Jordan Seismological Observatory Jordan Dr. T. AL-YAZJEEN
Seismological Institute of Kosovo Kosovo M. M. SHEMSI
Geophysics Centre at Bhannes (SGB) Lebanon Dr. M. BRAX
Libyan Center for Remote Sensing and Space Science (LCRSSS) Libya Dr. A. BSEEM
European Center for Geodynamics and Seismology (ECGS) Luxembourg M. E. BUTTINI
Seismological Observatory FYR of Macedonia Dr. D. CERNIH
Physics Department, University of Malta (PDUM) Malta Dr. P. GALEA
Academy of Sciences of Republic of Moldova Moldova Dr. V. ALCAZ
Direction de l'Environnement Monaco Ms J. ASTIER
Institute of Hydrometeorology and Seismology (MSO) Montenegro MSc J. MIHALJEVIC
Centre National pour la Recherche Scientifique et Technique (CNRST) Morocco Dr. A. I. IBRAHIM
Département des Sciences de la Terre Morocco Pr. B. A. TADILI
University of Bergen (BER) Norway Dr. L. OTTEMOLLER
Norwegian Seismic Array (NORSAR) Norway Dr. J. SCHWEITZER
Institute of Geophysics, Polish Academy of Sciences (IGPAS) Poland L. RUDZINSKI
Instituto de Meteorologia (IMP) Portugal Dr. F. CARRILHO
Instituto Superior Tecnico (IST) Portugal Dr. J. FONSECA
Universidade de Evora Portugal Dr. M. BEZZEGHOUD
Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade de Lisboa Portugal C. CORELA
National Institute for Earth Physics (NIEP) Romania Dr. C. IONESCU
Geophysical Survey of the Russian Academy of Sciences (GSRAS) Russia Dr. A. MALOVICHKO
King Abdulaziz City for Sciences and Technology (KACST) Saudi Arabia Dr. T. AL-KHALIFAH
Seismological Survey of Serbia (SSS) Serbia Dr. B. DRAGICEVIC
Earth Science Institute, SAS, Department of Seismology Slovakia Dr. A. CIPCIAR
Agencija Republike Slovenije za okolje (ARSO) Slovenia Dr. I. CECIC
Institut Cartografic i Geologic de Catalunya (ICGC) Spain J. ANTONIO JARA
Real Instituto y Observatorio de la Armada (ROA) Spain A. PAZOS
Swedish National Seismic Networc (SNSN) Sweden B. LUND
Schweizerischer Erdbebendienst (ETH) Switzerland Dr. J. Clinton
Royal Netherlands Meteorological Institute (KNMI) The Netherlands Dr. R. SLEEMAN
Institut National de la Météorologie (INMT) Tunisia Dr. S. B. ABDALLAH
Disaster and Emergency Management Presidency, Earthquake Department (ERD) Turkey F. ALVER
Kandilli Observatory and Earthquake Research Institute (KOERI) Turkey Prof. H. OZENER
Main Centre for Special Monitoring (MCSM) Ukraine M. A. LIASHCHUK
Dubai Municipality United Arab Emirates Mrs. E. A. AL KHATIBI
British Geological Survey (BGS) United Kingdom D. GALLOWAY
National Seismological Observatory Centre (NSOC) Yemen Dr. J. M. SHOLAN

Members by Right

European Seismological Commission (ESC) M. S. PAROLAI
Observatories and Research Facilities for EUropean Seismology (ORFEUS) C. CAUZZI
International Seismological center (ISC) Dr. D. STORCHAK
U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) United States M. P. EARLE

Pending Application

click to enlarge